Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battery Voltage

mnichols
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

I bought 2 new 12v deep cycle marine batteries last year. I keep the trailer on the side of my house with the battery disconnect out and a Battery Tender Plus on the batteries. Getting the trailer ready for this weekend and I put a meter on the batteries (no charger) and it read 13.6v. When I connected the battery disconnect in the trailer it droped to 12.6v with nothing on except the converter and fridge. 12.6 seems a little low to me after being on a battery tender all the time.

Anyway, does this seem low to anyone else? Could there be a short? Bad batteries? Thanks for your input.
11 REPLIES 11

Dakota98
Explorer
Explorer
dockmasterdave

It sounds as though you have a basic converter & not one that is a 3-4 stage charging profile.

If the batteries are fully charged & the converter is a 3-4 stage, it should read 12.8-13.2 in "float" mode.
I'm an expert in only one field....I believe it's somewhere in Kansas.

2000 / 22' SKYLINE NOMAD LITE
1998 DODGE DAKOTA / 5.2L= 8mpg.
2006 POLARIS ATV
1500/1200 Watt Champion generator
Yada Wireless Back Up Camera
1998 Dyna Wide Glide
USMC 68-74

dockmasterdave
Explorer
Explorer
Not trying to hijack this thread, just have a related question.

When you connect the shore power cable up that turns on the on-board converter/charger unit the batteries should jump up to 13.6VDC or higher up to 14.4VDC depending on what charge mode the converter is in...

I don't see my converter/charger dropping below 13.6v.
It is supposed to have 12.7, 13.6,and 14.4.
It is a wfco 45.
Is there nothing wrong with it constantly showing 13.6?

Thanks for your help.
2014 F 150 ecoboost
2008 Chrysler Aspen
09 Amerilite 21 (modified)
2013 Bendron 14' enclosed cargo
2011 4x8 open cargo

Dirtclods
Explorer
Explorer
Don't forget to check your distilled water levels.
AAA Motorcycle RV Plus

4aSong
Explorer
Explorer
RoyB wrote: