cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Easy Ideas to attach a 10' Kayak to Fiver

jayhardy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm thinking of strapping my Yak to the Ladder. Not real comfortable screwing any holes in my Fiver to make permanent rack. Am I missing any easy ideas???
16 REPLIES 16

Swampman597
Explorer
Explorer
No responses? Dang, I gotta learn the secret password. ๐Ÿ˜„

Seriously, has anyone added a hatch or door to their RV? Or, is it something that is best left to a dealer or cabinet shop? I really want to take my long kayak (16') and have even been looking at inflatable kayaks.

Swampman597 wrote:
I'm really new to RVing and have taken our 5th wheeler out once to Myakka State Park. But, we really missed our kayaks and looking at adding a front receiver and T-bar like you've done. The amount of tie-down straps for the T-bars surprise me - do they really move around that much or is there another reason?

I've also been thinking of another solution and wonder if any one has done or tried it. We have a 2004 Keystone Laredo and see there is plenty of room below the windows in the back for a hatch or door big enough to slide kayaks in and out when the slide-out is extended. From there, it would be easy to pull them forward to the bedroom stairs and even the bed. Then, just use Thule or Yakima type bars on the cab for transporting them from the campground. Does anyone do it this way? Or is there a problem with this solution?

Thanks
2014 Chevy 2500 Duramax, short bed, 4WD
2004 Keystone Laredo 27RL
Escapees member

Swampman597
Explorer
Explorer
I'm really new to RVing and have taken our 5th wheeler out once to Myakka State Park. But, we really missed our kayaks and looking at adding a front receiver and T-bar like you've done. The amount of tie-down straps for the T-bars surprise me - do they really move around that much or is there another reason?