cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some serious advice!

Levi777
Explorer
Explorer
Hi. We are in transition. My wife is severely disabled, and I work M-F on the other side of the state (Washington). The sale of our house closes on Dec. 6, and we have to be out of the house by then, and we are transitioning to a 5th wheel (2009 Montana), in that my wife can no longer take care of a regular home.

What concerns me is that first, I have no experience driving a diesel, using four wheel drive, nor pulling a 5th wheel, and not much experience pulling any kind of trailer. I'm pretty smart, and perhaps that's best shown by my asking for help.

We have a space reserved at an RV park in South Everett, and we have to bring that 5th wheel across Snoqualmie pass the weekend of Dec. 7th/8th. I anticipate blizzard conditions (anything less is a blessing, right?)

I'm thinking of putting Blizzak tires on the four 5wheel tires and four wheel on the truck should suffice. I will have chains just in case. Now, if we will be limited on finances, so I am also imagining that the Blizzak tires can't happen, will all weather radials suffice, with chains if needed? Do I have to chain both axles?

Next Summer we are relocating to Phoenix when our daughter and her family return from a posting in New York, so this will be our only time bringing the 5 wheel across a mountain pass in winter time.

Any advice and information would be greatly appreciated!!!
38 REPLIES 38

Levi777
Explorer
Explorer
Well, we made it. The weather turned freezing, and the pass was "Traction Tires Required", then the day we took off from Pasco, the pass cleared and it was "no restrictions" If I felt it get a bit squishy on the road, I put the truck on 4wheel.
We bought a new 2013 Chevy 2500 HD Loredo to pull it.

It pulled it rather jerky, not sure why. We have an 18k Pull-ryte hitch.