cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Non 5'er----yet

Bobandshawn
Explorer
Explorer
I am fairly new to the RV scene. I have a 2008 Keystone pull behind but am looking at getting a newer and larger 5th wheel unit. I have a Ram 2500 Mega Cab 6'4" bed 4X4 with the 6.4 Hemi. It is rated to pull 15,200 lbs. We will be looking for something in the 9K-11K lightweight trailer and try and keep the max weight below 13K or so. It is just me and the wife traveling 95% of the time, but there is the occasional grandkid tagging along at times.

We are totally confused what to get. I think we've actually looked at too many RV's and there are a bunch out there.

I am trying to get some real world evaluations from real people who use RV's quite a bit.

I fully understand the majority of units regardless of who built them use the same components and such. But so far I am of a thought that the actual construction of the trailer plays a much larger role in the reliability of the unit than pretty furniture and size of the fridge.

Any recommendations on units that are reliably build but meet my weight limitations?

Thanks for any offered help. Bob
55 REPLIES 55

bid_time
Nomad II
Nomad II
Bobandshawn wrote:
JIMNLIN wrote:
As far as hauling and towing I think you can haul a much larger load than what the factory says you can. Limitation is tires, but legally you could be in a world of hurt. If you cause a death or injury to someone in an accident you could even be criminally liable even if the weight of the rig had nothing to do with the accident. Lawyers are like that ya know!

Respectfully this comes under......Internet myth.
Every LDT truck in commercial service on the road pulling heavy trailers is carrying weight above the tire placard payload rating or a GVWR number payload rating and in that industry your scenario is a non issue so why is it just RV websites where this myth is constantly spread.