cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Propane Tanks & Furnaces

Onespeed405
Explorer
Explorer
I have a question regarding propane tanks and my RV furnace.

This weekend, I had 1 full 30lb propane tank and one 2/3 full (30lb) propane tank on an automatic switch over valve. I had the switch over valve pointing to the 2/3 tank with the tank turned on. I left the full tank turned off. (I intended to turn it on later)

All propane appliances were working fine, except the furnace. The pre-blower would turn on, the burner would ignite for about 8-10 seconds, then fail and shut down. I lived with this the first night.

In the morning, I turned on the valve of the full tank, but did not touch the switch over valve.

Poof, the furnace worked as normal.

As it turns out, for the whole weekend, we still had 2 pounds left in the first tank and never dipped into the full one.

Anyone have an idea of what is going on here? I have been RVing for 30 years and have done this many times (running with one tank open).
2005 Chev 3500 Duramax/Allison Ext Cab SRW 4x4 Long Box
Blue Ox Bedsaver, Hawkshead TPMS, Rear View Camera System
2007 Citation Supreme 31CKDS
220 W solar, 2800 W Magnasine pure sinewave inverter/charger/battery monitor, 4x6 volt deep cycle, Rotochoks
22 REPLIES 22

Me_Again
Explorer II
Explorer II
Old-Biscuit wrote:
Believe what you want Chris..........

Patent Number US7967025 B2

Wow, so many wrong and only you right? Not!
2021 F150 2.7 Ecoboost - Summer Home 2017 Bighorn 3575el. Can Am Spyder RT-L Chrome, Kawasaki KRX1000. Retired and enjoying it! RIP DW 07-05-2021

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
Believe what you want Chris..........

Patent Number US7967025 B2
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

Me_Again
Explorer II
Explorer II
Old-Biscuit wrote:
Me Again wrote: