cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying DEF - where?

catkins
Explorer II
Explorer II
I am new to the diesel side and am curious as to where to find DEF to purchase? Checked the local Walmart and no luck. Is it generally easy to find on the road? Taking a major trip from the NW to the NE and then down to AZ for the winter eventually.

Thanks for any information!
21 REPLIES 21

Charlie_D_
Explorer
Explorer
guidry wrote:
Someone in a prior post said that a Walmart had received a returned DEF box and found that it had been refilled with plain water. I always check the seal now. OP, sorry for hijacking your post but I felt it important enough to mention and hope you didn't mind.

BTW, I get my DEF from Walmart and keep an extra box either in my garage or bed of the truck while traveling long distance.

An excellent point to beware of. Be certain that the secondary seal is intact. I got burned on a 5 quart container of oil that I had purchased for an oil change.. Had used oil in it.
Enjoying Your Freedom?
Thank A Veteran
Native Texan
2013 Prime Time Crusader 330MKS
2018 Chevy 2500 D/A Z71 4x4 Offroad
2006 Holiday Rambler Savoy 33SKT-40,000 trouble free miles-retired
2006 Chevy 2500 D/A-retired
2013 Chevy 2500 D/A-retired

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Most truck stops have it both in the C-Store and in many cases at the pump island (Selected islands well marked).

Most any source of Diesel will have it in the store as well.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

Skid_Row_Joe
Explorer
Explorer
Blaster Man wrote:
Should be available at your WalMart...mine have it.

It's cheapest @ ALL Walmart Supercenters. It's even available @ the small Walmart Supercenter in Branson, Missouri.

Blaster_Man
Explorer
Explorer
Gunship Guy wrote: