cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feeling ripped off on the cost of a front break job ?

behengold
Explorer
Explorer
I had my breaks checked at 74,000 mi on my 2000 Born Free E450. Was told I needed new pads and a right front caliper.The rotors were also turned.$600 later I picked it up and on my first trip I felt a shimmy in the wheel and tire on the right side.There was also a burnt plastic odor which I thought might be the new break pad.I took it back to the shop after 400mi to recheck.They told me I now had a warped rotor suggesting I must have been riding the breaks and overheated the rotor.This time they replaced both rotors and the other caliper costing another thousand dollars for a total of $1600. I guess I should have taken it right back to have them to redo the repair but I was 60 mi into my trip and figured it might be the new pads adjusting. What do I know,I'm not a mechanic. I'm wondering if they contributed to the problem by not doing the job correctly in the first place.I'm interested in other opinions as to the cost and whether they should have eaten some of the 2nd repair.
19 REPLIES 19

tboss
Explorer
Explorer
Rip off I say yes,, for turnin the rotors including new clean ,inspect and repack the bearings and new pads ,,for 200.00 and some change,,done the work myself grt brakes and
no wobble in steering wheel..

RonMay
Explorer
Explorer
WOW, that shop should be ashamed of themselves. On our 2004 Class C (E450) I just replaced all 4 calipers as well as new pads front and back. The parts cost me about $450 and I did the work myself. I can't imagine why labor costs would add THAT much to the tab.

j-d
Explorer II
Explorer II
$600? Not bad at all for Fronts.

Simply Amazingly Stunning if "all" and "the rotors" means Front and Rear!

Seems they treated you like other customers, farmers, contractors, deliveries etc. that run Ford Trucks, not a cash cow in an RV.
If God's Your Co-Pilot Move Over, jd