Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ford Adventurer or Thor CHATEAU

mc_line
Explorer
Explorer
Hi

I'm a newbie in the RV world but I have been looking at RV's for a couple of months and I have concluded I can not afford a new (or newer) RV. My parking space is bellow 23.5'. My budget and parking is limited. The unit is for me, my wife and kid (and maybe my mother once in a while)

Under these circumstances I have two units that are almost priced equally. I have taken took a look at them and they are in good shape, they do not have to have any water leaks, delam, mold, and appliances work ok. The 2004 has some rusted screws but that's it

2006 Ford Adventurer 220RB sold by owner (honest owner) with 60 miles
2004 Thor CHATEAU 21 (on a Chevrolet) c sold by a dealer with 50 miles

Personally, I like the 2004 unit configuration but the extra bed in the 2006 unit is also nice.

Does any want has any experiences on any of these models, which one is more reliable or any recommendation on which way to go?

Thank you so much in advance for your help
6 REPLIES 6

tenbear
Explorer
Explorer
My 2004 Chevy 3500HD has a 57 gallon gas tank. It also has a tow/haul switch.
Class C, 2004/5 Four Winds Dutchman Express 28A, Chevy chassis
2010 Subaru Impreza Sedan
Camped in 45 states, 7 Provinces and 1 Territory

pnichols
Explorer II
Explorer II
Which size chassis is both of them on:

The Ford based motorhome - E350 or E450?

The Chevy based motorhome - 3500 or 4500?

The Ford chassis (whether E350 or E450) of that year will have their superb TorqueShift computer controlled 5-speed (6-speeds internal) transmission with it's automatic down-shifting Tow/Haul mode for effortlessly safe mountain driving.

If the Ford is also the optional heavy duty ton and a half E450 chassis, it's a no-brainer to choose the 2006 if the rig's tank capacities, condition, equipment types, construction quality, and floorplan are up to what you want.