cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Generator runs great but won't run A/C or fridge

Roscooriginal
Explorer
Explorer
My generator runs great. But, it won't power my fridge or run my A/C. I have a 2001 Rexhall Vision 29. Only has 20K miles. And yes, at 59 yrs old, I'm new at this! Would love any thoughts. I had to top off the battery's as they were low, could they just be shot?
9 REPLIES 9

jsmart
Explorer
Explorer
My genie is an Onan 5500 on a 2002 Itasca Sunrise 32 foot. Had a problem with the generator running fine but shutting down after I got to full load (both AC's running). Took some advice from this site and changed the air filter, changed the oil, and replaced both fuel filters. It now runs like a champ with everything on, (even the microwave). This was a cheap, easy fix as the parts on amazon and at the local RV shop were not that expensive.
2002 Itasca Sunrise 32V

turbojimmy
Explorer
Explorer
Goldencrazy wrote:
And as one guy did if the breakers and cord do not fix it is to bang the transfer switch lightly with a hammer. At times the automatic can stick as I understand it.

Or (carefully) vacuum out the electrocuted ants like I had to do. Turns out a bunch of cooked ants provide pretty good insulation on the contacts in the transfer switch.
1984 Allegro M-31 (Dead Metal)

Goldencrazy
Explorer
Explorer
And as one guy did if the breakers and cord do not fix it is to bang the transfer switch lightly with a hammer. At times the automatic can stick as I understand it.

RoyB
Explorer II
Explorer II
This is a typical 30AMP Electrical layout for the trailers. Might give you an idea of what power sources run different things inside the trailer. The 120VAC and 12VDC Power Distribution Panel is the center main component of the electrical system functions...