cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Have possible electrical issue with horn

Jeannie_M
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I have a 1999 national Tradewinds with 113,000 miles on it. The only problem I have had so far is the highway horn started sounding and would not turn off. I had to pull over and pull the fuses out from behind the plate near the armrest. I donโ€™t know how to fix this as all the fuses look fine. Also, the ceiling fan stopped working the next day. Where do I start to look for the problem as I try to do these little fixes myself and I am not a mechanic by any means. So I need details . Thank you!
Jeannie
19 REPLIES 19

Jeannie_M
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, yes thatโ€™s why I had to hold the switch in the middle position until I could unhook the wires because the horn and the highway horn, depending on which way it would tilt would not stop going off.

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Look at page 4.1 Manual
Need to pull switch on console. The switch toggles between highway and city horn system.
Sounds like it is the button in steering wheel.
Horn either loud highway horn or city horn goes off depending on switch position, Is this correct?

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

Jeannie_M
Explorer
Explorer
Yes, there is a horn on the steering wheel as well. However, when the highway horn went off and I hit the switch on the consul in one direction, it was the highway horn, which did not go off and if I flipped it in the other direction, it made the steering wheel horn go off, which I didnโ€™t know it even did that so itโ€™s like a rocker switch, and I had to hold it in the middle of the switch and drive it to my house so I can pull over and unplug it.

oldave
Explorer
Explorer