cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low batteries

danddclydes
Explorer
Explorer
Ok - I admit it, the weather and general laziness has left me with batteries not strong enough to start my motorhome. It has been extremely cold!!! Now what do I do to jump it or somehow charge the batteries enough to start it? I am new to this and know I sound clueless.

Thanks for any help!

Flanz
Explorer
Explorer
danddclydes wrote:
You are right and not harsh, read through the manual and it is very general and not specific to my coach, I would guess this is a common problem. Actually it even has some pictures of a set up that appear no where in my MH. Don't mind the reality check and appreciate the help.

Well then, I guess MH manufacs have gotten bad at writing manuals? My manuals tell a different story. But then again I own a 2000 SeaView. Maybe things have gotten bad out there in the industry.

RayChez
Explorer
Explorer
PianoTuna, I have equalized wet cell batteries which are on the house, but on the chassis they are usually AGM sealed batteries which should only be equalized if the batteries are showing signs of not holding a charge.

Since this coach charges both house and chassis at the same time, and you have wet and AGM, I think that the charging rate might be different. I notice on my coach where it has different settings for wet or AGM on the inverter/charger. Not sure Don.
2002 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
330 HP Caterpillar 3126-E
3000 Allison Transmission
Neway Freightliner chassis
2017 Buick Envision

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Hi Ray,

He took them down to 7 volts, and left them at that level for days. Just charging them won't be enough.

RayChez wrote:
I do not agree that the batteries need to be equalized just yet, since it is a 2014 coach, but in six months it is recommended for your wet batteries.
Regards, Don