cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Opinions on 1997 Winnebago Vectra

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
Hello I am new to motorhomes (currently a travel trailer) but found a 97 Vectra with 80K miles that has some roof damage. They say it is on a Freightliner chassis and has the 5.9l and 6 speed Allison. First any common issues with the motorhome? What about the drivetrain? Is it underpowered? And if so can any of the modifications they do to trucks with the 5.9L apply to give it more power or allow it to operate more efficiently? I driven behind airbrakes on heavy duty trucks is this system just as robust?

Thanks
10 Lincoln MKS Ecoboost
07 Lincoln Navigator
00 Newmar Dutch Star 3851
9 REPLIES 9

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
post pictures
bumpy

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the info!
J-Rooster wrote:
Joe, in 1997 the Vectra was Winnebagos top of the line Diesel Pusher. You shouldn't have any problems with the motor and Allison trans. In fact at 80,000 miles the inside of the engine if well maintained should be near new, most diesel engines get broke in around 20,000 miles. What damages motorhomes more than anything else is water damage. Beware of water leaks and the moisture that accompanies them. Good Luck with your new coach.
10 Lincoln MKS Ecoboost
07 Lincoln Navigator

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
Bumpy thanks I did get your warnings. Let me clarify I am not looking for a turn key motorhome. I also understand that roof damage can be a terrible thing. There is shrink wrap (sealed) but no signs of delamination, no stains in the interior or signs of water leakage that I observed. Maybe I should have said I have a bad habit on taking on projects. I get them fix (by pros), enjoy them then eventually sell them. I am trying to gather more specifics on the roof but wanted to make sure it was even worth the research that's why I asked about the model.

Bumpyroad wrote: