cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Repair

bill257
Explorer
Explorer
I have a coachman Freelander 32 BH 2011 model. The left corner of the front area above the driver seat (bunk bed) as shown in the picture has splitten up and is spreading. How should I repair it? Any suggestions?RV Pic
14 REPLIES 14

Mich_F
Explorer
Explorer
I think that "old beater" is actually a 32 1/2' 4 year old MH. 😉
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K Class C
2016 Mazda CX5 on Acme tow dolly- 4 trips ~ 5,800 mi
Now 2017 RWD F150 with a drive shaft disconnect

maillemaker
Explorer
Explorer
Honestly it depends on how good the rest of the rig is. From your picture, your RV looks like an old beater like mine.

For me, it would not be worth the money to rip open the cab and rebuild it. I'd probably slap some Eternabond over it and call it good.
1990 Winnebago Warrior. "She may not look like much but she's got it where it counts!"

ron_dittmer
Explorer II
Explorer II
I am no expert on this, but if water got inside limitedly and you are able to dry everything out well, then I would drill a hole at each end of the crack to prevent it from growing, then fiberglass over it, then add a nice creative piece of trim of some sort across the entire front to hide the patch work so the rig looks nice again.

DrewE
Explorer II
Explorer II
This is the front/bottom of the cabover canteliever, right? Not the part next to the roof?

If so, assuming the construction is similar to my '98 Coachmen, you can get access to the other side comparatively easily by popping a few fabric buttons off the lower buckboard sort of panel between the bunk area and the front wall/ceiling of the cabover, and then removing the screws underneath the buttons. This buckboard then comes off. Underneath is probably some fiberglass and a sort of wooden cage framework, with the Filon and some thin plywood or something (which may have decomposed) backing it.