Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Right class c for me?

Browntrout73
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all,
So we are family of three (me,wife and 2 yr old). We currently have a 26 ft fifth wheel that we are sick of. Tired of towing, hitching etc...We want to make a move into a class c. My background is VW Campers so I am aware of their limitations. We like to boondock and do forest service roads., with occaisional RV park. Overall length maybe 26 max and hopefully good ground clearance. Firstly we were excited about sprinters due to the fuel economy and easy manueverability. But I have been reading scary reviews of their touchy computers and trans failures etc. not to mention how much $$ they are to get into. so now we are looking into good ol american iron. I am mechinally inclined so would like to find something not too computer dependant, like 2007 and earlier. What advice do you all have? Ford, Chevy? How easy are they to drive, manueverabilty? Need for a toad? Big question is are they safe to use a car seat and if so which seat is best for a car seat? Is it possible get into one for $20k or so? Sprinter is not out of the question if we can find one at *cough* a decent price
Any direction would be greatly appreciated
16 REPLIES 16

PghBob
Explorer
Explorer
Jason:

The V10 in our Ford E450 has handled both the East Coast & West Coast mountain ranges without difficulty. I generally drive the speed limit, or in a few cases, just below. Our worse mileage was 7.5 westbound on I80 in southern Wyoming during extreme high winds, our best was 11 with 40 mph driving on the main roads in Yellowstone. Generally, we average about 8.5 to 9 mpg cruising the Interstates.