cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tow dolly what do I need

kidkasha
Explorer
Explorer
I have a fleetwood Discovery w/ 275HP CUMMINS Turbo Diesel with Allison 6-Speed Electronic Transmission. I want to get a tow dolly for my 2012 Ford Fusion which can run 4 down. The MH can tow 5000 lbs, and the ford is about 4500 lbs. I am confused as I checked at CW and was told installation is about $3500. for what they said I needed.

I am not cheap, but thrifty as I saw tow dolly's on Ebay for around $500. What else do I need to complete a tow package, and how should I start and what are my possibilities. All and any input is acceptable I am not sensitive to good and bad comments as I am an Insurance salesman.
48 REPLIES 48

kidkasha
Explorer
Explorer
I was able to purchase a Roadmaster Towmaster from an individual with all the parts. Going on a trip LA to Coeur D' Alene ID. Will need to have installed when I return. Thank you all for your advise

PastorCharlie
Explorer
Explorer
Tow bars that use the hitch ball have to be removed and stored and those that do not use the ball can remain on the MH hitch once disconnected.

Counting pennies on a tow hitch can cost dollars or even lives. A truck pulling a trailer using a pintle hitch separated while crossing a bridge here locally and the trailer hit an oncoming car cutting off the roof and decapitating the driver.

A quality hitch is GOOD insurance. Not a place to skimp. Adjust the budget at other places.

jerseyjim
Explorer
Explorer
If you're talking about a telescoping towbar (with a baseplate)vs a triangular bar that bolts on to the car....
My preference is the telescoping one. Look around any RV park, I'd guess 99% of motorhomes that tow cars have the telescoping models. I guess there's a reason for that.
Check it out.

kidkasha
Explorer
Explorer
Any commnt??

kidkasha
Explorer
Explorer
Is the difference between the total bar And the one that slides in with the straight bar??