cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Towing with class c Jayco

Rsteelie
Explorer
Explorer
Just traded in my travel trailer for a Jayco class c, so I am new to towing. Jayco shows 5000 lb towing capacity and I need to think about buying a car which will be compatible. Any suggestions out there?
16 REPLIES 16

Teeton
Explorer
Explorer
If you want just a good tow vehicle. And you being from AZ you should be able to find a good geo/chevy tracker. Mine is a 2 door and is only 2200 lbs.. I don't even know it's there.

BobK53
Explorer
Explorer
Garino wrote:
I like my Nissan Frontier. A small truck works for the two of us and has room for stuff in the bed.
Same as listed above other than start the motor every 500 miles towed. I never drove over 500 miles in a single day so not hard to comply.

I also agree with towing a Nissan Frontier pickup, but we have had a bit of a problem with the battery going low while towing. Part of that problem was probably our automatic brake that plugs into the cigarette lighter and the fact that that cigarette lighter is not active unless the key is in the ACC or ON position. I think that part of the battery problem is the Nissan Frontier!
I'm adding a cord from the RV coach battery to the rear bumper, a connection using an outdoor cigarette lighter setup, and then on to a second cigarette lighter in the cab of the toad that is currently unused. That way the automatic brake (part of a Blue Ox setup) is powered by the coach battery that is charging while I am driving the RV and pulling the toad. With the key in the PUSH position (just counterclockwise one notch from the ACC position) there is NO pull on the toad battery.
Another option is to use a solar battery tender that came with a VW that we used to own. I'm not sure how that would work with the Nissan Frontier wiring and battery system. I'm sure that Nissan would NOT recommend it. Any thoughts?
Bob Keeland and Joy Young
Arnaudville,Louisiana