cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smoked cheese - first efforts

Super_Dave
Explorer
Explorer
This is my first try at smoking cheese. I wanted to see if I could control a low temperature in my new smoker without an additional device. When you see the temp keep climbing, you get a little nervous at where it might stop. Overall, I think everything went pretty well. I will wrap the cheese and let it mellow for a few days before tasting it to see if I need to up the smoke or cut back on it. I did some medium cheddar, Colby - Jack and some Monterey Jack for starters.

This was pretty much representative of my experience. Smoker box temperatures were 86 - 88 and the cheese level temps seemed to be around 5 degrees lower than the box temp throughout with the pans of ice underneath.

Shot of how everything was loaded.

Cheese:

Truck: 2006 Dodge 3500 Dually
Rig: 2018 Big Country 3155 RLK
Boat: 21' North River Seahawk
27 REPLIES 27

Super_Dave
Explorer
Explorer
NYCgrrl wrote:
What kind of cheese is the mottled looking blocks? Is that caused by the smoking?

Colby-Jack, one of my favorites.

magnusfide
Explorer II
Explorer II
Super_Dave wrote:
magnusfide wrote:
You should go in business and call yourself Smokin' Dave :c :w

A couple of my friends think the same thing. One is good with graphics and made this. I LMAO!

Not too shabby :w
"The only time you should fear cast iron is if your wife is fixin' to hit you with it."-Kent Rollins
First law of science: don't spit into the wind.

Magnus

Super_Dave
Explorer
Explorer
magnusfide wrote:

A couple of my friends think the same thing. One is good with graphics and made this. I LMAO!

magnusfide
Explorer II
Explorer II
"The only time you should fear cast iron is if your wife is fixin' to hit you with it."-Kent Rollins

Magnus

NYCgrrl
Explorer
Explorer
What kind of cheese is the mottled looking blocks? Is that caused by the smoking?

Super_Dave
Explorer
Explorer
Round 2 is smoked and wrapped.