cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Satellite TV options

jeff__h
Explorer
Explorer
At home we have cable so I've never done the satellite thing before.

Our camper is mostly in the same spot all year long but I do pull it out a few times a year and travel with it.

Here is what the wife and I want. The ability to only pay for the camping months that we want.

I presume that we will need a satellite dish and receiver that we own since we don't want a contract.

So far all I have seen is the Tailgater from Dish. It is about $500 and does what we want, but it is a bit pricy. What are my other options?
13 REPLIES 13

Gulfcoast
Explorer
Explorer
Personally, I like Dish Network and am glad to pay their price for quality TV anywhere I travel. I sure was bored beyond words before I got it. Thank goodness for satellite's that can send a signal back to earth.
RV'ing since 1960
Dodge Cummins Diesel
Mega Cab
Jayco Travel Trailer

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
If you use the camper often enough both DISH and DIREC offer options that let you suspend service for a period of time.. I can not, however, give you the details.

Personally I think the Dish pay as you go system is a bit.... High priced.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

Gulfcoast
Explorer
Explorer
Here's the factory link on my favorite portable dish...

Winegard Pathway X2
RV'ing since 1960
Dodge Cummins Diesel
Mega Cab
Jayco Travel Trailer

1L243
Explorer II
Explorer II
I don't notice any lag time when changing channels on my Tailgater... Since I use the 211k at home I just take it with us in the RV when we leave. Don't even have to call Dish unless we want new locals for our new location.... I only advise on whatever you decide is if you buy from Camping World I would pay for the 3 year warranty...