cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dump techniques....

bcarroll
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, the 23 minute dump time thread, that is now closed, got me to thinking - what is the most efficient way to dump.
I am in my 3rd year of my first trailer, and feel I am not very efficient when it comes to dumping.
I just came home from camping this week and when I dumped, in the FHU campsite, it took me much longer to dump than 23 minutes.

I dumped the black tank. Then dumped the gray tank. While the gray tank was dumping I had someone put more water in the black tank.
When the gray tank was almost done, I closed it and re-opened the black tank. When that was done, I finished the gray tank.
I don't have any fancy internal black tank rinsers, and no clear dump pipe, so I disconnect the hose and use a sprayer to rinse up the pipe as far as possible(holding the hose for it to drain into of course). I do not want to leave debris in the tank so I rinse until no more debris.
I think my black tank has a never ending supply of debris because I finally had to just say "no more" and end it(after an hour or more).
I wanted to do a more thorough job of cleaning the tank while in the FHU site, otherwise it would have just been a quick black dump/gray dump, put more water in the black tank and dump... 5 or 10 mins tops.

But there has to be a better way...
83 REPLIES 83

LLeopold
Explorer
Explorer

Time to close this thread.
Lou Leopold
Between RVs at this point
but I continue to tent camp!

Chandalen
Explorer
Explorer
I kinda like the people that take forever... that way I don't get yelled at for not being off the site at 1100! I just point and say.. do you see that line??
'08 Sierra 5th wheel bunk house
'04 F350 6.0L (bulletproofish now)
470ah GC2 battery bank, 500w Solar /w TS-45 Controller, 2k Pure Sine Inverter
Active Duty Army

Samsonsworld
Explorer
Explorer
You must camp in different spots than me.

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
Samsonsworld wrote: