cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with RV drain problem

RVMomof3
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, I am fairly new to Rv life and new to this forum. I am glad I found it though because I have a problem that I am hoping some one can help me with. Drain flys!? I am not sure where we got them at, but these little flys are coming out of our drains and can not seem to get rid of them. Any suggestions please!
9 REPLIES 9

RVMomof3
Explorer
Explorer
We defiantly stay hooked up, as when we stop, we stay for several weeks at a time. This is the second year we have had them. They cam last year, and we thought they went away, but then at the same time again, they came back. It is like their eggs were hibernating for the winter and when spring came, so did they 😞
We have been buying the fly strips to catch the adults, which have helped. To get rid of them, we have tried spraying bug spray, pouring vinegar and baking soda down the drains to clean them, and even put bleach down the toilet, but they still come back.
Hopefully, your ideas will work ((crossing fingers))!

Thank you everyone for your help 🙂

Clay_L
Explorer
Explorer
I had them in the black tank twice in 12 years and that valve is closed except for a minute so while dumping so they are probably coming in the roof vent and laying eggs in the crud on the tank walls.
I killed them with bug spray through the toilet flush hole.

When I got them in the shower I poured boiling water down the drain a few times and that killed them.
Clay (WA5NMR), Lee (Wife), Katie & Kelli (cats) Salli (dog).

Fixed domicile after 1 year of snowbirding and eleven years Full Timing in a 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N, Workhorse chassis, Honda Accord toad

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
If you want to leave the stinky slinky hooked up, be SURE to put a P trap in it either below the RV, or at the dump site. I use a big rock, if available, to do that. If I can't find a big rock, I take 3 of my leveling blocks and make one.