cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Is it possible to run 110 outlets off of the battery

kandkbrand
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone, I am very new to RVing as in November I purchased my first Trailer. We have taken it out a couple of times just to shake it down and see what is what. I have not had a chance to use the hot water heater or plumbing as I live in Colorado and will not de-winterize it until May. My question is about the electrical system. I know you can you lights, water pump, radio and such with the battery, but is there any way to use the 110 outlets in the trailer off of the battery. I understand that you can run a generator, but I was just wondering if there is a way to use the 110 outlets just with the batteries. Do i need to purchase an inverter to do this? Still trying to get my head around all aspects of the unit. Thanks for the help.
41 REPLIES 41

2oldman
Explorer II
Explorer II
bikendan wrote:
2oldman wrote:
bikendan wrote:
What trailer, even 5th wheel, has room for 8 golf cart batteries?:h
My Okanagan.
You must have used a whole basement compartment.
My basement doesn't have compartments. I used the whole battery tray, for 6, and 2 in the basement. It's a big coach.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
The largest 12 volt wire will be the main battery connection. Probably #6 wire black-positive white-negative. Negative probably through the floor to the frame. Positive snakes up to the battery.

There might even be space in the lugs or a free terminal to connect the inverter direct. If you use smaller wire than the main feed you will need to add a fuse.

Transfer switch $50 Just plug this into the small inverter. Remove the branch circuit romex and connect to the output. New piece of romex to connect from the panel to the input side. Need to place the inverter where you can turn it on/off or figure out a remote.

kandkbrand
Explorer
Explorer
time2roll wrote: