cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to RV's and the forum

willi4nd
Explorer
Explorer
After years of tent camping the wife and I decided to buy our first travel trailer. We picked up a Heartland Trail Runner last week and took it out for the first time this past weekend....was so nice to wake up warm and dry on a cool dewy morning.

I have found many "little" things wrong with the RV, most of which I fixed, I am a building engineer (maintenance) in a high rise building.

Most of the things I found would have been pattern installs at the factory, if it was wrong on mine, it should be on all of them. For instance, the brackets that secure the kitchenette table to the side wall was 3 inches off.

I realize RV's arent built similar to autos with robots doing the welding and are mostly built by hand.

Is it normal to find so many things wrong with a new RV?

By the way, my name is Jody, I live in Northern Kentucky, married and an "almost" grown son.
New to the RV world and loving every minute of it.
2015 Nissan Frontier 4x4 6 cyl
2015 Trail Runner SLE 22
17 REPLIES 17

Jayco-noslide
Explorer
Explorer
We toured the Winnebago factory and it's pretty interesting and they provide 100's of free camping sites. Of course it's hard to tell if you aren't an expert but they do a pretty good job of convincing you about quality.
Jayco-noslide

willi4nd
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks Pete, it has been fun 🙂
2015 Trail Runner SLE 22

petendoll
Explorer
Explorer
Welcome to the forum. You will find any questions you have answered here. This is my first go to if I am researching a problem of some kind. Have fun with the new RV. (repairing things is part of the fun for me)

willi4nd
Explorer
Explorer
Dutchmen, you can call me Willi...or my real name, Jody 🙂