cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Gasoline Pushers

Kenneth_Neal
Explorer
Explorer
Like many RVers with Ford V-10 engines, I'm not happy with the noise level in the cockpit. I am not an automotive engineer so what are the reasons why we don't see gasoline pushers? Seems like this would greatly reduce cockpit noise.
12 REPLIES 12

jeb5
Explorer
Explorer
The rear engine gas was used in school buses in the 60's. They were never very popular. Mechanics hated to work on them because of the lack of space. There were cooling problems with the engine and also heat problems inside the bus. Many were big V-6 engines that had their own issue. The crankshaft was not strong enough to handle the 400 cu. in power. This often caused block damage when the crank broke. The advantage in school bus was more space for entry and exit. They were also quiet. The concept is good, but no one spent the money to eliminate all of the problems.
Ford F-350, 6.7 Diesel, 4x4, Long Bed
Newmar Kountry Star 5th Wheel

Atlee
Explorer II
Explorer II
Of course engine placement had nothing to do with the bad heater thingy. Bad heater had everything to do with it being an air cooled engine. There was no hot water for air to blow over to heat of the cabin.

Greydennyhawk wrote:
Cooling is the main issue, remember the Volkswagen Beetle? Bad heater, also.
Erroll, Mary
2021 Coachmen Freedom Express 20SE
2014 F150 Supercab 4x4 w/ 8' box, Ecoboost & HD Pkg
Equal-i-zer Hitch

Homer1
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for bringing the coach name back that I almost bought. I could not recall the name and long ago lost my paperwork. A business man here in town owned one. He loved it for handling and floor plan, but admitted he had problems with cooling it's engine.

Chris_Bryant
Explorer
Explorer
Probably the most famous would be the FMC Coach, with its industrial Chrysler 440.
-- Chris Bryant

frankdamp
Explorer
Explorer