Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Roof Repair Project (Advice needed)

jondoexxxx
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,

I am a newbie, just bought an 88 Minnie Winnie with 75k miles and first thing I wanted to do was fix some issues with the metal roof.

I pulled off a cargo box that was installed as it seemed like it was going to leak and patched the holes with Heng's Alkyd Fibered Roof Coating - Elasto-White.

Next up I need to repair some areas where the seams on around the sides, vents, etc. is cracking and coming up.

I started with just a scraper, but found that the hard roofing material that was used before was put on top of some sort of caulking and wouldn't really chip off very well. I ended up using a heat gun to loosen the material and then was able to scrape most of the caulk and roofing material off.

What I am wondering is whether I should continue to scrape and then maybe sand down to the raw roof metal / siding? Or if I am good to just use the Roof Coat on top of the thin layer of caulking that remains? Should I apply a new bead of silicone or other rv caulking and then apply the roofing agent?

I am hesitant to get too much further down this rabbit hole, but also don't want to do a bad job.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
13 REPLIES 13

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
Coat the complete roof with Liquid EPDM RV rubber roof. Maybe two coats in the "bad" places. See link below. One of the videos is of my 33 foot TT I did in 2010. No leaks for 5 years.

Watch the videos in the RV section
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos

westend
Explorer
Explorer