cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Total Newbie With Questions

Papacrane
Explorer
Explorer
Bought a 1978 Dodge Country Squire Sportsman 61,000 miles on odometer. Good condition, AC and Refrig do not work.

What class is this?

I think the engine is a V8 360 2 barrel....sound right?

Engine runs VERY rough, barely makes it uphill. Have changed spark plugs, wires, Dist cap....now looking for carb rebuild kit but need to make sure of Engine size. Are parts hard to find for this?

Took one trip with it so far of about 150 miles total and used alomost $100 in fuel!

I paid $ 2,000 for this. Did I get ripped off?
8 REPLIES 8

Vulcaneer
Explorer
Explorer
Another thought...you might want to pull one plug wire at a time from each cylinder. If the engine sounds different (roughness) with each plug disabled...all is good with that cylinder. Then re-plug the wire and go do it again to the next plug. If the engine sound (roughness) does not change, then that cylinder is suspect. Doesn't tell you WHAT the problem is. But helps you to isolate WHERE the problem may be.

Another check for a vacuum leak is (with the engine running) to take a propane canister torch, open the valve, and point the nozzle around the base of the carburetor, intake manifold, and other places where you might have an intake leak. If in any one place you hear the idle pick up, that is a place you have an intake leak.
'12 F350 SB, CC, SRW, 6.7 PSD, 3.55 RAR, 6 spd auto
2015 DRV 38RSS 'Traditions'
Pullrite Super Glide 18K

Retirement = It's all poops and giggles....UNTIL someone Giggles and Poops.

Vulcaneer
Explorer
Explorer
Your fuel mileage sounds a little heavy...even for an RV. But those old Mopars, were never known for good mileage. Check for leaking vacuum hoses, or rich running. If you have changed the plugs, did they look dark (rich running?) or oil fouled.