Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Towing travel trailer with an Xterra

dhatcher
Explorer
Explorer
Hi (new member here),

I got here by searching around on google about towing a travel trailer with my xterra. Got here, read the one post I found about someone towing with an xterra but, it seemed they were interested in towing a 25' trailer.

I'm interested in towing a 15' or less trailer with my xterra for camping (and some adventure 🙂 ).

What kind of advice can you give a newbie to towing? Should I get additional cooling setup for my transmission? What about sway control, is that a necessity or just really really nice to have?

2012 Xterra Pro-4x model (4x4)

Thank you all for any advice you can send my way 🙂
16 REPLIES 16

retiredtravele1
Explorer
Explorer
I'm late to the topic --- I don't frequent the forum much any longer. I've been towing a heavy pup with my X for 10 years. As far as power and torque, don't even know the pup is behind me and I can hill climb with ease. Pup is pushing 2800 pounds loaded.
Now, having said that, yes, it squats. Keep in mind that tongue weight does not include propane and battery. I was pushing 500 pound tongue with two tanks and battery. I took to putting the tanks and battery at back, inside pup while traveling.
At 300 pounds, still get squat. You'll need a WD hitch. I did not get one but I will be soon.
I've never had problem with sway. I've taken 8 trips across country towing 500 miles a day in heavy rain and 100 degree temps. No issues at all with X or the pup.
No longer RV'ing

kvangil
Explorer
Explorer
I tow with a '05 Pathfinder. We have pretty much the same drivetrain. Off the lot, your Xterra will tow a 15' 3500lbs camper adequately. It is already setup to tow; no need to add a trans cooler; the factory trans cooler is plenty sufficient. What you will need to add is: