Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

12 Volt Computer Fans not working (long-ish post) SOLVED

CSCustomCars
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone,
I'm trying to install some computer case fans in my roof vent that has no fan in it above the kitchen stove (who's idea was that?).
The problem I'm having is they will not work when connected to power in my trailer.
Let me add, I am an auto mechanic, have the knowledge and skill to diag for the most part, but am at a loss here because it doesn't make any sense.

I bought two of these fans:
THERMALTAKE RIING 12 SERIES
Specs:

P/N CL-F038-PL12BU-A
Fan Dimension 120 x 120 x 25 mm
Started Voltage 9.0 V
Rated Voltage 12.0 V
Rated Current 0.2 A
Power Input 2.4 W
Fan Speed 1500 R.P.M
1000 R.P.M (with LNC)
Max. Air Pressure 2.01 mm-H2O
Max. Air Flow 40.6 CFM
Noise 24.6 dB-A
18.7 dB-A (with LNC)
Bearing Type Hydraulic Bearing
Life Expectation 40,000 hrs,25?
Connector 3 PIN + LNC (Low-Noise Cable)
Weight 158.8 g

Yes, this is a 3 pin fan, however, the third wire is just a hall effect sensor to tell the CPU how fast it is spinning.

With each fan mounted, I tested each with a 9v battery. Both started working. I then wired a cheap switch to both fans on the ground side, connected both fans together, wired the ground through the switch, then connected again to a 9v battery, flipped the switch fans turn on, flip the switch fans turn off.

I tap into power at the bathroom fan. I get power from before the bathroom fan, and ground after the switch for the fan. Connect up the fans in the kitchen, and nothing. I reconnect to a light on the ceiling, nothing. Disconnect, check again with a 9v battery, still works with a 9v. Bathroom fan still works fine.

What on earth is going on here? Do I need a voltage regulator before the CPU fans? MOST CPU fans will operate over 12v, even up to 20 volts. They have very little draw, only .4 amps. The fuse for the bathroom fan is 7.5 amps.