cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Towing with a dolly

ferndaleflyer
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have been towing my Smart car on a dolly for 5 years off and on for 10,000+ miles I would guess. Last trip about 1000mi and stopped in 4 camp grounds and unloaded it. At the 3rd stop when I unloaded it brakes acted like they were locked up, car had zero power, about every light in the dash including the check engine light was on, electric power steering wasn't working, but the engine started up and ran fine. RPM would not even increase in neutral. I backed it up and it started operating right but check engine light was on. Ate dinner, came back out and check engine light was out and everything worked as it should. We drove it about 300mi there moved about 200mi to next stop and everything was fine. Loaded up and drove 350 mi home unloaded and all is fine. Only explanation I got from garage is that there are speed sensors on both the front and rear wheels and since the front wheels were stationary it confused the computer. What say you all?
11 REPLIES 11

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Probably just a glitch. All cars to some extent have issues like that at some point. And sometimes not repeatable.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

ferndaleflyer
Explorer III
Explorer III
Mercedes says to put it in neutral for either 4 down or on a dolly with the fronts on the dolly. I have a Featherlite trailer but only use it if I want to take the full size Mercedes or the F150. Like I said above I have carried it on a dolly for several years and many miles with zero problems.

Reisender
Nomad
Nomad
rjstractor wrote:
Do you tow it with the front wheels on the dolly or rear? The little bit of looking I did on the Smart forums indicated that it was better to tow with the rear wheels off the ground since the car is rear wheel drive.