cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

ABS vs PVC DWV plumbing

Greg_The_Hammer
Explorer
Explorer
I have been RVing for going on 20 years. Also, I have been involved with residential contracting for quite some time as well. Many years ago, ABS replaced copper as the preferred material for plumbing the drain systems in residences. Then maybe 20 years or so ago, PVC replaced ABS as the preferred material for DWV systems, and is in use everywhere today, EXCEPT in RV's. The RV manufacturers seem to have stuck with ABS for some reason.

Does anyone have knowledge as to the reason they continue to use ABS rather than PVC? Is it less susceptible the vibration rigors of the open road? Is it less prone to rupture from freezing? Is it less brittle when cold? There must be a bona fide reason they don't use PVC, which is much more readily available.

I'm about to replace a ruptured section of ABS with PVC, unless there is a compelling reason not to. Thoughts?
"It's Hammertime"
2014 F250 King Ranch
2011 Jayco Eagle 31.5 Super Lite fifth wheel
2005 Custom Enclosed motorcycle trailer
2008 Harley Electra Glide Classic
15 REPLIES 15

Harvey51
Explorer
Explorer
We had an ABS elbow crack on a sink drain running several feet down then 7 feet across the RV to the grey water tank. I think it was just too long and too rigid. I replaced with a rubber elbow and have not had any more trouble.
2004 E350 Adventurer (Canadian) 20 footer - Alberta, Canada
No TV + 100W solar = no generator needed

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
OldSoldier53 wrote:
After doing a little research, I am going with PEX for my TT restoration. Took out PVC some of which was broken. All of which was a bad job. Don't know what was there before. It is a 1968. At about $30 for 100 ft and probably the same amount for fittings, seems like a no brainer.