cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Care and feeding of my ex650?

Naio
Explorer
Explorer
I got one of these nice purring little gennies used, and now I need to know what to do with it!

I have zero experience with small gas engines. Never had a gas lawnmower.

I dumped the gas out of it and ran it dry, on the suggestion of a friend. Now, should I get special ethanol-free gas for it? Or can I use regular? I suppose it predates unleaded regular...?

Should I add stabil? How much?

What do I need to do in terms of ongoing maintenance?

I think I can print out a manual, but I figure some of these aspects (like what fuel to run) will be outdated and I need to ask you guys.

I did get a gardening knee mat to put under it, on the advice of somebody here (smkettner?) but I don't have a rear rack for it yet.
3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.
21 REPLIES 21

Naio
Explorer
Explorer
NinerBikes wrote:
So OP, how is your EX650 working out for you on a daily basis? Did you get the oil changed and replaced with the proper oil in the proper quantity? Clean out, wash and re oil the foam air filter too?

Aw, Niner, thanks for asking :).

My van has been in the shop for 2 weeks, getting some electrical mods. I left the genny in it, so have not had it around to mess with. No time anyway! But today or this weekend I hope to get to it, change the oil, clean the air filter, get some nice (or decent) gas. That's why I dug up this thread, to refresh my memory. What is up with shop guys who keep out rigs forever?

I am happy to have my van back, anyway!
3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.

jplante4
Explorer II
Explorer II
You can get 100 low lead at any small airport. Stuff has a 2 year shelf life with no additives. Price is around 5-6 bucks a gallon these days.