cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

DIY 3 way refrigerator venting (drawing)

evy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm working on my DIY conversion build out of a 2010 Ford extended E250.

I've red a lot of articles here and there about 3 way refrigerator venting, now I can't do the big two gravity vents/access door like they normally do.

But Here's another way that should provide even more air movement behind the fridge.

Using three 80mm PC fans (120cfm/0.54amps total), plugged to the fridge (I don't know how yet but I know there's a circuit especially for that) every time the fridge turns on the fans are activated.

I have never done this before, please tell me if you see anything wrong with this concept, thanks!

jrnymn7
Explorer
Explorer
I would also seriously consider going with a proper rooftop mounted vent. You do not want to choke things off with that small 3 1/4" x 10" goose neck; fan or no fan. Build an insulated chase wall, the full width of the fridge, up behind the food cabinet, and curve inwards towards the centre of the van, until you're far enough in to accommodate the vent. (this is exactly what I did, and it works fine). It's better to vent out the top, rather than the side, as a good stiff breeze could easily force air back down into the chimney. This is much less likely to happen if roof vented. (and no, installing a side wall goose neck with a back draft damper is not an option in this case. You need as little obstruction/restriction as possible)

evy
Explorer
Explorer
jrnymn7 wrote:
Venting from the side wall would work fine... mine does, and so do hundreds of thousands of other rv's. And you could, theoretically, end up drawing trapped exhaust pipe heated air up thru the cabinet.

But yes, the fuel filler is a logistics/safety issue, for sure. Any way you can install the fridge away from that area?