cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

electricial 30 to 50 amp connection

Ziphead2
Explorer II
Explorer II
I plan on camping at a campground that only has 50 amp spots left. My mini winnie has a 30 amp power cord, Will there be problems if I use a 50 30 amp bone adapter. Do i have to stick with 30 amp? I know there have been other post on this subject but I have no experience with electric/thanks
18 REPLIES 18

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
enblethen and Sjm9911,

Thanks for the memory "refresh"!

I always preferred Square D.
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

Sjm9911
Explorer
Explorer
enblethen wrote:
I think that was Federal Pacific! Original paperwork said you had to cycle the breakers every six months. Not for sure it was six months, but somewhere around that. Believe it was around the time original company went out of business.

It was definitely federal pacific. And they will not insure your home if they know you have that box in your house. They are known to start fires.

What they said, but i think your site will have the 30 amp hook up also, call to find out.
2012 kz spree 220 ks
2020 Silverado 2500
Equalizer ( because i have it)
Formerly a pup owner.

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
Here's the thing (if it has not already been clearly stated). You have a 30 amp coach and that's a fact that cannot be changed by plugging into a 50 amp plug. The good news is that plugging into a 50 amp plug with the proper 50/30 amp dogleg adapter is not a bad thing. It just does not change the fact that you have a 30 amp coach and you still cannot use more than a total of 30 amps total. 50 amp coaches are able to use 100 amps with 50 amps spread between 2 separate 50 amp legs.
What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.