cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

electrical problems

scout3351
Explorer
Explorer
Having electrical issues after loaning out trailer for a week. AC doesn't work, refridgerater works only on gas, sparks blowing out of converter. Opened converter because I could see debris behind the fan. Both capaciters were split open with the contents laying all over. While checking things out I got a scare when I was checking the neutral bar. I'm no electrician but I don't believe the white wire going to the neutral bar should read 120v. Red wire going to breaker is 120v. Black wire going to next breaker is 120v. Ground wire to grounding bar is fine. If I just plug in with 120v cable its fine. It's when I plug in with the 220v 30 amp cable that things get ugly. How can the neutral wire get hot when plugged in with 220v?
33 REPLIES 33

scout3351
Explorer
Explorer
I put the 2 new capacitors in the converter and it is working again. Put a new AC unit on the roof and that is working again. I replaced a 5 amp fuse on the circuit board on the fridge and replaced the heat tube and that is working again. Got out of this mess for less than $800. Thanks You Tube videos and thanks to you guys. No one but me will ever pull this trailer out of the yard again.

scout3351
Explorer
Explorer
I always keep the trailer plugged in to 110v when its at home to keep the batteries up. Thats how I found the converter was blown up. Had him bring the adapter he used. That's when I found out about the hot neutral wire. I visualize giving him 20 lashes with the his adapter. Still waiting on the new converter and ordered 2 new capaciters to see if I can bring the old one back to life.

bob213
Explorer
Explorer
I think I'd be having a conversation with whomever he lent this thing to.

The way I read the OP is was not the person he lent it to that plugged in to 220V it was the OP himself. Either way I'm sure he has an expensive mess to clean up. ๐Ÿ˜ž