cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Left battery out all winter in Michigan....

EnochLight
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings everyone!

Forgive the noob post (and I apologize if this is in the wrong place or has been discussed before), but I am new to the RV world and just bought our first travel trailer last summer (a 2013 Gulfstream Amerilite 16BHC) new.

I keep it plugged in to shore power when at home, but this winter I accidentally forgot to pull my battery for storage inside the house. As a result, I left my TT plugged into shore power all winter long (a good 7 months) with the porch light on, but I am wondering if my battery has been damaged or if I need to do anything now at this point?

My battery is an Interstate HD24-DP that appears to be sealed, but then again... it has the two caps on top that I am assuming I can pull to add distilled water to (not sure).

Thanks for any advice!

*Note: my TT does not have a battery meter or battery level indicator

Here's a shot of my battery for reference:

2013 Gulfstream Amerilite 16BHC Travel Trailer pulled with a 2008 Ford Escape Limited
38 REPLIES 38

EnochLight
Explorer
Explorer
Harvey51 wrote:
I.
I am near the start of the Alaska highway. Temps are well above freezing during the day now. Still freezing at night. We are going on an overnighter on Thursday.

Interesting. I'm in Michigan and our nights are only now starting to hover above freezing. Are you using your plumbing in your 20 footer? I'm reluctant to flush my plumbing of antifreeze right now for fear of it freezing at night.
2013 Gulfstream Amerilite 16BHC Travel Trailer pulled with a 2008 Ford Escape Limited

Harvey51
Explorer
Explorer