cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Torque Pro Question - Trans Fluid Temp Calculation Methods

BigMac
Explorer
Explorer
Not sure if this is the proper place to ask this, but here goes. I'm new to the Torque Pro app. Just downloaded it to monitor performance of my 2004 6.8L Ford V-10 (2-vlv) installed on a 37? Forest River Georgetown. I will start using it on my next trip. Iโ€™m particularly interested to monitor Transmission Fluid Temp. In the Ford specific Custom PIDs available in the app there are two tranny temp PIDs with different calculation methods shown, Transmission Fluid Temp (Method 1)โ€ and Transmission Fluid Temp (Method 2)โ€. Can anyone please explain the differences between them and if one is more appropriate than the other for my application. My normal on the road travel weight for the RV is slightly over 20,000 pounds plus pulling a 3300 lb. toad, and Iโ€™m trying to make sure I have real time transmission fluid temp data during long or steep climbs. Thanks.

Mike and Cindy

FMCA / Good Sam Member
2016 Tiffin Allegro Open Road 34 PA
2010 Pontiac G6
13 REPLIES 13

RLS7201
Explorer
Explorer
bcbigfoot wrote:
RLS7201 wrote:
bcbigfoot wrote:
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
Make up a MECHANICAL CAPILLARY TUBE GAUGE. Interrupt the outgoing fluid from the transmission on it's way to the cooler. Use a threaded brass block with a "T" suitable for the gauge bulb. Double flared fittings on the tyranny line. Wrap the line from the transmission with fiberglass mat just like they use on body repairs. Four wraps. Then fiberglass resin.

This reads fluid temp as the transmission sees it. No other manner of reading transmission fluid temperature is valid.

Now for a question: