cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Weird Electrical Issue/ Need experience of RV.net

Shacklaw
Explorer
Explorer
If you recall the scene from Indiana Jones where he looks into the pit and says "SNAKES, it had to be snakes"...that's me right now.

I'll try to condense-I've had this poor ol' coach for years. Last time I actually used it as a coach, I was having an issue of draining batteries and a small "shock" from the frame if you were sweaty and touched it, but it was manageable. It thereafter became the building office for our house, was taken to the lake to be the building office for the lakehouse, was brought back home and allowed to sit for a couple of years. About 5 years total. I have now decided to restore it.

I attempted to start it. No go. Fresh battery, jump box, nothing.
Changed starter. Rolled over several times, spuddered. Nada.
Check the battery drain with multimeter on amps on negative post,
23.4 amp draw with everything off. It would go to 34, then down to 10.5, then 0, then back up. Never stayed constant.

I isolated the chassis side from the coach side (as far as I can tell) Coach Batteries out, bird disconnected, etc.

All that is left is: Power cable from chassis battery to on/off solenoid, (power equal on both sides), cable to bird, bird to starter. If you don't connect the 2 cables at the bird (battery and starter) no power loss. As soon as you hook the 2 cables together (that's their normal config.) you get a 23.4 amp draw. Alternator completely disconnected. Seems to be from the cable to starter.

New Starter (same results with old, so it was good) a main cable to the solenoid, a small wire to the start pole, and a light purple heavy wire from the main cable lug up into the loom towards the dash. Best I can tell that's ALL that's hooked to the battery.