cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Wiring issue

Hslag
Explorer
Explorer
In laws just bought a 1995 coachman catalina 338fl the gfi in bathroom does not work and the wall out lets on that side does not work either and there is to lights in the slide for dinner and coach area that appear to be 120 volt also and they are not working either.breakers are all ok . Is there a place to get a wiring diagram on them so I can tell how it is wired? I am a car mechanic and would like to no how the voltage flows from the breakers to this breakers? Any tips our help is greatly appreciated
11 REPLIES 11

Hslag
Explorer
Explorer
That is going to be my next step

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Yes, the home ones will work. Don't go too cheap. Good quality one.
Have you tested the one you have? Should have power on line side. No power means problem in 120 volt power section or in wiring.

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

Hslag
Explorer
Explorer
Will home gfi outlets work.

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
That GCFI was manufactured more than twenty years ago. Missouri is not noted for bone -dry climate. Bathrooms get steamy wet. I would replace it for drill, regardless. Buy a good brand. 20-amp rated GCFI seem to be built better than 15-amp models and they fit like a charm.

handye9
Explorer II
Explorer II
Just a note on what westend's post.

"Lights are usually 12 VDC".... Key word here is usually. There are some coaches with a mixture of 12VDC and 120VAC lighting. My MIL has a travel trailer (I forget the brand) that has two 120VAC light fixtures and a couple 12VDC small reading lights in the slide out.
18 Nissan Titan XD
12 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Wife and I
Retired Navy Master Chief (retired since 1995)

Dave_H_M
Explorer II
Explorer II
i would do exactly like west end suggested. Then if no voltage there co some voltage checking at the breaker board.

westend
Explorer
Explorer