cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

1987 nomad 2440 NEED HELP!

87nomaderwhat
Explorer
Explorer
I am a complete newbie. I just acquired a 1987 Skyline Nomad model 2440. This is my first travel trailer. I am trying to find a service manual for it and i cant seem to locate one. I called Skyline and they said they dont carry them. I want to know the ins and outs of my trailer.

Like- when im plugged into 120v does it charge my batteries

or- when im not plugged in will my tv still work if it is plugged into a 120v

the electrical is my main concern.

how long will 2 marine batteries last

PLEASE HELP!
4 REPLIES 4

87nomaderwhat
Explorer
Explorer
Wow you guys are awesome replying so fast. I appreciate it any other advice is welcomed

bmupton
Explorer
Explorer
A quick check you could do is look in the AC breaker panel for a breaker labelled something like "charger"...My '96 Mallard has a breaker in the panel for the battery charger, so it's listed there.

As for 120V without having AC hooked up, that's anybody's guess. I've never had a camping unit (TT or otherwise) that had an inverter built in, so my working theory is it's not a popular option.
TT: 2013 Zinger ZT33BH
TV: 1986 6.2 Diesel Chev 3/4 ton van

Iraqvet05
Explorer
Explorer
You may be out of luck on a service manual for a trailer that old. I suggest you buy or borrow a multimeter and hit up YouTube for videos on using one. You can check your battery's standing and charging voltage as well as your 120V receptacles with a multimeter. As for battery life it depends on the age of the batteries and the amount you are drawing from them.
2017 Ford F-250 6.2 gas
2018 Jayco 28BHBE

US Army veteran

the_bear_II
Explorer
Explorer
It will be tough to find an owners manual.

Your best bet is to find a long time RVer that is willing to help you out.

Next best is to go to a local RV Repair and offer to buy them Pizza if they would walk you through some stuff.