cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice on fine tuning my wdh set up w/scale results

Idaho33
Explorer
Explorer
First off let me say this is my first post on this board but I have been lurking it for a couple of years. I have gone from a complete newb to having a fair understanding of TT/TV WDH dynamics thanks to the information posted here. This site truly is a wealth of knowledge, which is why I figured I would share my experience and hopefully get some insight on my current set up. This may get a little long so bear with me.

In winter 2011 my wife and I started to look at getting some type of towable RV. There are tons of great camping spots in Idaho but the spring and fall can tend to be chilly so it made the camping season shorter than what we were used to in California, and we also had a two year old daughter to consider. Our vehicles were an 08 Nissan Xterra 4x4 and an 04 Mazda B4000 4x4 (ford ranger).

We initially started looking at used pop ups (which in hindsight is where the search should have stayed given the TV's) but most didn't have very many amenities like A/C and an actual flushing toilet. I then discovered HTT's and liked the extra space and amenities but started having concerns about the weight. There were some very small ones but my wife felt they were too small and they were actually as expensive as bigger trailers. I decided that if we were going to go that big I would prefer a hard side for several reasons including not worrying about a bear getting you in your sleep through the tent (I love the outdoors but bears have always freaked me out).