cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battery During Winter

turkey_stalker
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all. I am new to RV'g and have been on just one trip. When we picked up our RV the battery was dead and wouldn't hold a charge. The company gave us a free battery. I would like to keep the battery on a charge for the winter and am considering a battery tender. Any recommendations would be appreciated. I just want to make sure it doesn't totally discharged over the winter until spring comes around.

Thanks!!
20 REPLIES 20

JBarca
Nomad II
Nomad II
turkey stalker wrote:
DutchmenSport wrote:
You didn't say what kind of camper you have or if you are able to store it at home or not. If you are able to store at home, just keep the camper plugged in with a heavier construnction style extension cord, plugged into your house outlet (15 or 20 amp breaker). This is MORE than enough to keep the battery charged, as your on-board converter will charge it automatically. Campers are made to be plugged in while camping for weeks at a time, so if you check the water level a couple times to make sure it's not boiling out, there's no reason to remove the battery at all.

Now, if you're storing off site, then yes, bring the battery home and a trickle charger will work just fine.

I did forget to add we are not keeping it at home. Would this work fine? http://www.amazon.com/Deltran-Battery-Tender-021-0128-Charger/dp/B00068XCQU/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top...

The battery tender is good, just they do not have a desulfate mode.

VDC Battery Minders have the float charge (trickle) and desulfate mode, even temperature compensation. Shop around for the same thing cheaper. The factory direct costs more
http://www.batteryminders.com/batteryminder-model-1500-12volt-1-5-amp-maintenance-charger-desulfator...

And Ctek makes them too. http://smartercharger.com/