cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full timing questions.............

TWINCAM666
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to Trvel trailers - Motorhomes in General and have a few questions.

I will soon be full timing. Trveling to some out of state jobs, then living in the Rv when i'm not working also.

1st question is, how big of a TT can I pull with a 1/2 ton pickup safely?

2nd is if I get a 5th wheel do I really need a big diesel or?

Also, I do not have a truck or towable car.........So I will be buying truck / trailer or motorhome / car....

Any input on this will be helpful
6 REPLIES 6

Eycom
Explorer
Explorer
If there's a possibility/probability you aren't in a position to follow the sun as a full timer, it would behoove you to research the availability of open parks during the winter. In the east, most parks north of the Carolinas close for the winter, even the parks in N. Carolina's high country.
RVn Full-time

TWINCAM666
Explorer
Explorer
Well, I will be using it thru out the USA.... I will probably see some winters in PA and Washington state. Also plan on working in Oregon and Utah a bit..

I do see the point of a Trailer over a Motorhome...........

rockhillmanor
Explorer
Explorer
For what you are going to do my advice would be:

Buy a TT and a truck capable and safe enough to tow the TT. Do a search on the "towing" forum of this site. PLENTY of good info on ~~Can my truck tow this?~~.

Leaving a MH sit for long periods of time is just simply not good for them it's a vehicle with a motor, trans, exhaust etc that just deteriorate when left sitting. And it WILL sit if you are towing a car to use.

AND

The exit strategy is better with a TT than it is for trying to unload a used MH. You can sell the TT and still have a nice truck to drive.

Just my

Good Luck!

We must be willing to get rid of the life we've planned,
so as to have the life that is waiting for us.

jerem0621
Explorer II
Explorer II