cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP!! Wheelchair carrier hitched to TT???

ai_woodworking
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all. I'm a newb to RVing, and the forum. I have 15+ years experience towing automobiles as well as some experience with towing TTs. I have been recently diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis (M.S.) and intermittently require the use of my power wheel chair. I'm having difficulty deciding how to transport my chair. I have concerns using my hitch mounted "tilt ramp" wheelchair carrier on the REAR of my 28', dual axle TT. Both weight balancing concerns as well as bottoming out on driveways, dips, etc. Carrying it in the bed of my truck is an option, though the 360lbs the chair weighs (EMPTY weight) is also concerning bringing it down a potentially unsteady and HEAVY ramps (I have limited Mobility and strength also due to the M.S.). Any thoughts, or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. I'm 37 years old and find myself in INVOLUNTARY retirement due to this GD DISEASE! Therefore, I have an EXTREMEMLY LIMITED budget. If anyone can share their experience with a hitch mounted, extra storage "shelf" (can't think of the item's name) on the rear of a TT, I'd appreciate it.
Dave Allen
NOTHING to it but to DO IT!
21 REPLIES 21

LarryJM
Explorer II
Explorer II
ai.woodworking wrote: