cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie here Looking for a light weight TT for 5 suggestions?

CherylH
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here
Looking for (suggestions)for a lightweight TT that can sleep 5.
I've found MANY that can accommodate that but I am asking for suggestions. What do YOU suggest and why?
I've been looking near me but I can travel to go get one too.
I am in Omaha, NE.

I am looking for one that has bunks, couch and dinette and a queen bed.

I am looking for something that is under 5000 range for weight. My max towing is 9100 but I want to keep it way below that.

TT that I've been looking at are:
Jayco 174BH (only issue I see is no couch) but is doable
Forest River Patriot Edition 16BHS but again no couch
and both dinettes are tiny.
Oh and not over 15k in price.
18 REPLIES 18

ford-willy
Explorer
Explorer
Since you are a newbie. You've heard all the weight stuff already. Think also about the features and tech stuff.

1. Water heater both AC and propane. My newbie neighbor got propane only and has to listen to a propane burner even when he's on 120 AC.

2. Get lube-able axle bearings. (Super lube or easy lube).

3. Make sure it holds enough fresh, gray, black water for your use needs. Many bunkhouse models have smaller tanks to get extra bunk space. I owned one once like that.

4. A better suspension thats better than just a standard equalizer keeps the rig from jumping down the highway.

5. Dont get carpeting. The new simulated wood looking floors hold up much better.

6. IMHO Almost all trailer tires are a load range lower than they really should be. Example -- if they are C rated, should be D rated.

There are lots of other issues. Think it through. Dont be bulled by a sales rep.
2009 Grand Junction 335TRL--2011 F350 Lariat 4X4 Dually Crew Cab, 6.7 Diesel, 6 Speed Auto, 3:73 Gears--One Great Towing Machine.---------
2016 Forest River Salem T21RBS

SoundGuy
Explorer
Explorer