Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Question about Trailer Hitch Purchased with Trailer

pjkdog
Explorer
Explorer
Hi Guys,
My wife and I finally made the plunge and purchased a Starcraft Launch Mini 19BHS.
I have a Ram 1500 with the factory installed trailering package, so it has a receiver, a there is already a trailer break setup on the dash.
When I bought the trailer(which we still have to pick up as it's being prepped for delivery)
I said I wanted a good anti-sway system and the guy added a blue ox pro. These were the options.
1) Blue Ox Sway Pro $830.00 Installed and Demonstrated by technician

2) Reese/Husky WD with Sway Control $585.00 Installed and Demonstrated by technician

Is this typical, is it a good hitch and price? I am totally fresh to this whole thing, I studied the campers, the hitches not so much but any advice is appreciated as we have not picked it up yet and could still make changes.
13 REPLIES 13

73guna
Explorer
Explorer
Are you a hands on/diy type of guy?
How far away is the dealer?
Are you comfortable towing without a wd hitch?
If you have some experience towing I would tow the trailer home and buy the hitch and ball and set it up myself.
You have to be able to torque the ball down to 300-400lbs or more so a healthy torque wrench is in order.
Not sure exactly what your tongue weight will be, but it looks like you can get a BXW0750 for $600 on ebay and setup videos are plentiful on the old interweb.
The swivel latches on the blue ox can be down right dangerous so do your research and try to have most of the tension off the bars when hooking/unhooking if you decide to go with blue ox.
With your light trailer you probably wont have many issues though.
Im not a fan of blue ox as Ive had issues and this thread is not the place to discuss it so all please no opinions directed at me for the sake of Mr. pjkdog's thread.

As always this is just my opinion.