cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pulling the trigger on first TV - anything I'm missing?

chilly81
Explorer
Explorer
I'm about the pull the trigger on a brand new TV. Think I have everything sorted out, but I have no actual experience with this stuff - just reading the interwebs. It's a lot of dough - so I wanted to just throw it out there to see if I might be overlooking anything.

Trailer (patiently waiting in driveway):
02 Nash 22h (24' TT). 4200# dry. 7000# max loaded.
I ~believe~ dry tongue is quoted around #450... I think worst case assume #1000 - and the truck could handle that with me and a couple hundred #'s of junk in the bed. I can't imagine it being that high though.

Truck:
2014 Ram 1500 Express Quad cab 4x4
5.7L 8-speed auto, w/3.92 gears
20" rims
Integrated brake controller
Class IV hitch
Tow mirrors.
Backup camera.
Tow: 10,150#
Payload:1495#

I didn't go for air springs. I got a 1000# equal-izer hitch off craigslist that I'm going to start with and see how things work.

So am I forgetting anything (besides ford/gm/toyota/diesel is better type of advice)?
15 REPLIES 15

chilly81
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks! Getting pretty excited to actually move the trailer. I bought it 'delivered' so it's sat for a month or so as I worked on it and shopped for the truck. A new set of sneakers this week and we'll see if I can take it for a ride then back it back into that spot 🙂

EcoBullet
Explorer
Explorer
Good lookin' truck! Congrats!
Me 1954, Nana 1954, Grandson 2003, Granddaughters 2005 & 2008
2014 Keystone Bullet Premier 22RBPR
2013 F-150 XLT Supercrew 4X4 Ecoboost Max Tow

Perrysburg_Dodg
Explorer
Explorer
Very nice and Thank you!!!

Don
2015 Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab SWB 4X4 Ecodiesel GDE Tune.

chilly81
Explorer
Explorer
Appreciate the last minute sanity check everyone. I did the deed today after work. Here's a couple quick shots before the sun goes down. I could probably have moved the garbage cans.

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer