cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Replace A/C gasket as preventive maintenance?

sportbob
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to travel trailer ownership and have a 2006 Cherokee 28DD. I am not experiencing any problems but was thinking of replacing the A/C gasket as preventive maintenance. Unless I should leave we'll enough alone?

Thanks!
Bob
9 REPLIES 9

llowllms
Explorer
Explorer
If it's not broke, don't fix it.

sportbob
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, great. Thank you Jerry!

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
Should be able to see best from inside. You may be able to see easier with a mirror. In any case, this is where to snug the bolts, just a little, after inspecting the gasket.

Jerry

sportbob
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you all very much for the great info! How would I be able to check the gasket compression? I'm not at the camper now, but I did try looking under the a/c from the roof and up through the hole from inside and wasn't able to see the gasket very well.

RoyB
Explorer II
Explorer II
My last few years before retirement I was on I59 between Gadsden and Fort Payne ALA a couple times a month pulling my POPUP over the buckling concrete slabs. There was no escape haha... The best spot to run was the hard shoulder but you had to fight the truck traffic for the space...

I could not go faster than 45 MPH between Gadsden and Fort Payne pulling my OFF-ROAD POPUP as my trailer was always bumping up and down for miles on end. The truckers would be running the hard shoulder and passing me. This scared the **** out of me being passed on the right by the big trucks running the hard shoulders...

After two or three of these runs I noticed my air conditioner was dripping water inside the POPUP when being used... This was first time I had inspected the four bolts holding down the roof mounted air conditioner. I was shocked how loose all of that got. I literally almost lost my air conditioner from being so loose on the roof.