cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too many miles?

brebar
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone. I am new to the RV experience, I just purchased a new Tracer 240 TE. I have planned a trip from Michigan to Glacier NP. I reserved all the camp sites along the way.

My question is, did I "over do it", as far as miles between campsites?

The first three days I am going to be driving 516 miles from Holly MI to Lake Gogebic MI, then from Gogebic to Devils Lake ND, 491 miles. Then from Devils lake ND to Shelby MT, 650 miles. most of the way we will be traveling on US. 2.

I recently read in "The RV book" by Mark Polk that I should try not to travel more than 350 miles per day. (I planned the trip before I bought this book)

I planned the trip so that we can stay at Glacier for 6 Days and relax and tour the park.

Any opinions or scoldings would be appreciated:h
84 REPLIES 84

brebar
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you for all of your posts, it's been great. In the future I will be more aware of drive times.
As this is our first long trip(or any trip for that matter) in our TT, what the heck, we'll bite the bullet and go with the flow. You have to start somewhere, I suppose, and learn along the way. Being completely new to this I will probably make all the mistakes that make all of you so "experienced".

I learned a great deal from our short conversations today. Can I keep you posted on our experiences this summer?

dlk
Explorer
Explorer
The other thing is US 2 through ND and eastern MT, heavy oil field traffic, severly muddy roads if you hit it during a rain, at least it was when I traveled to BC a while back, it was a mess.
Dan & Pam UP of Michigan
F 350 Fx4 Keystone Sprinter

lbrjet
Explorer
Explorer