cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Water pump problem

mkslup
Explorer
Explorer
I am a newbie to RVing so bear with me please. I purchased a new Starcraft Autumn Ridge travel trailer. My issue is after being set up for 3 days I woke up this morning to hear my water pump running and would not shut off. I turned it off and turned on all the faucets to see if I had air in the lines and turned the pump back on. It still runs without shutting off. I see no leaks anywhere...does anyone have suggestions? I turned off the pump as not to burn it out. Thank you in advance.
9 REPLIES 9

Old-Biscuit
Explorer II
Explorer II
Basic water system........

Fresh water tank has have water in it.
Pump needs to be primed by turning it ON and opening faucet (Hot/Cold side) to purge air from system
Hot side will take longer due to having to initially fill water heater tank.

Pumps are designed to 'run dry' without damage

City water hook up and pump feed same system.

When using city water connection you should have a water pressure regulator on water supply to control pressure (50#).
Some water supplies can have very high water pressure.

Having pump ON and being connected to city water source will NOT hurt anything.
Pump will only run IF city water inlet pressure is lower than pump 'start' pressure (typically 30#) Pump will shut-off when pressure is above set point (typically 45#) NOTE: Some upgraded pumps have higher start/stop set points.

Enjoy your 'new' RV........it's all a learning curve we have ALL gone thru.
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

PenMan
Explorer
Explorer
What the others already said. We were all new at one time so just keep asking the questions.
Chris and Jane
2013 Open Range Journeyer JT337RLS
2006 Dodge Ram 3500, 4x4, Crew Cab, DRW, 5.9 turbo diesel
1996 Harley Davidson Electraglide

TucsonJim