cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

route to south Lake Tahoe

jtcpartners
Explorer
Explorer
Hello! In Sept. 2014 I will be driving my 38` MOTORHOME with tow from Groveland, Ca.(Yosemite Ridge RV resort) to south Lake Tahoe. Can I take 49 to Hwy. 50 over to Tahoe? I see older posts that say I 80 is terrible and I prefer no interstate when in a scenic area. This is my first time to the area! Thanks in advance fellow rv`ers!
25 REPLIES 25

jtcpartners
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, thanks!

msmith1199
Explorer II
Explorer II
Oh. If you only have one day then don't do the drive I suggested. I'd spend the day in Yosemite. And I'd probably do Glacier Point Road instead of Tioga. Much better view from there. But a drive up Glacier Point and back and then some time in the Valley will use up an entire day before you know it.

2021 Nexus Viper 27V. Class B+

2019 Ford Ranger 4x4

jtcpartners
Explorer
Explorer
Not sure I can leave the dogs that long... We may just make it over the Tioga Pass since we want to do the Village too. Thanks! We really only have 1 full day.

msmith1199
Explorer II
Explorer II
If you like to drive, a good day trip from Groveland is to take Tioga Pass and go all the way to 395. Then come back over 108 (Sonora Pass) all the way back down to 49 and then back over to Groveland. Leave early because it is a long drive, but it's doable in a day. There's quite a few different things to see and do along that route.

You'll need to check the status of the forest roads where you're staying if you like getting into the back Country. The RV park you'll be at was surrounded by the Rim fire last year so all the area around you will have been burned. I know there are some areas still closed up there but I'm not sure what has been opened back up. Cherry Lake is a nice ride but that road will go right through the heart of the burned area. It's all nice and green again, but most of the trees are dead. Did open up the view though.