cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Traveling to Hesperia, CA from San Bernadino

GypsynurseFL
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a travel nurse with a 36 foot 5th wheel toy hauler. I have a dodge 3500 pulling it (2007). Not many RV parks in San Bernadino but I did find one in Hesperia, CA. Has anyone traveled with their rig on I-15 through San Bernadino mountains? If so how was the trip on your rig? I've used the truck to pull my rig from Alamogordo, NM to Flagstaff, AZ with minimal difficulty I just don't want to get stuck in California. Thank you for any info.
6 REPLIES 6

1320Fastback
Explorer
Explorer
You'll be fine but stay 2-3 lanes from the right. You will come up on big trucks going very slow and it's a long haul to the top so don't want to be constantly changing lanes.

I would try to be there before 5AM or after 7PM.
1992 D250 Cummins 5psd
2005 Forest River T26 Toy Hauler

time2roll
Explorer II
Explorer II
There is a similar combo going up/down that hill on I15 about every 5 minutes 24/7.
Slow traffic is the big headache so check google maps for a traffic report.

hotpepperkid
Explorer
Explorer
Rancho Jurupa Park is in Riverside. It is a county park not sure how long you can stay there but worth your time to call them
Riverside County Parks
2019 Ford F-350 long bed SRW 4X4 6.4 PSD Grand Designs Reflection 295RL 5th wheel

D_E_Bishop
Explorer
Explorer
I-15(Interstate), 6 percent grade for a few miles but very doable. Like stated above, the traffic can make the drive, especially on weekends, an absolute b---h. the bear II has a great suggestion. Get a map or some app where you can measure the distance in San Bernardino to Hesperia and draw a circle, anything in that circle will be the same or less driving and I can almost guarantee a much short drive time.

But, if Hesperia it is, then just prepare yourself for a long drive at times.